Daily English 1304 - Expressing Gratitude

Dialogue/Story

Gina:  I would like to begin by expressing my gratitude to all the people who have helped me along the way

Mark:  You’re not going to start your speech with that boring opening, are you?

Gina:  It’s not boring. It’s a nice opening.

Mark:  It’s too formal and stiff. How about, “Hey, everybody. Thanks a million!”

Gina:  That’s too informal.

Mark:  Fine, if you say so. What comes next?

Gina:  Well, then I say, “I want to whole-heartedly thank those who stuck with us and who never let us down.”

Mark:  That’s too impersonal. How about, “Hey Emiliano, you’re totally awesome. And you, Tania? You’re absolutely fab.

Gina:  That doesn’t even come close to expressing how I feel. I want to thank people for their thoughtfulnessgenerosity, and support from the bottom of my heart.

Mark:  That’s so sappy! Why don't you just give props to people who deserve it and a shout-out to the people who helped you? Then, you jump off the stage and walk through the audience to high-five everybody. That’s how I would give a thank-you speech.

Gina:  I’ll remember that the next time I speak to a group of 10-year-olds!

 

Script by Dr. Lucy Tse

Category: Daily Life


دانلود فایل صوتی

دانلود متن کامل به همراه توضیحات و آموزش

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
امکان ثبت نظر جدید برای این مطلب وجود ندارد.